top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Wood

The Way

When I was younger, going to church was a part of life. That is what Sunday's were for! Even when I got older, was driving, and had Sunday morning swim practices, I would get out of practice early (always knowing I would make it up later in the week) and made it to Sunday School on time. My grandparents and parents always made it a part of our life. It was never something we were forced to do, but it was something we did as a family, whether we all showed up in the same car or not! Being so comfortable in that environment, and then later attending a church youth conference as a teen, I knew I was called to a life of service to others. Never in a million years did I think I would be following in the footsteps of the most amazing woman (My grandmother) as a clergy spouse.


At age 8 I remember saying a prayer one night, that I hope to find a husband that is like my grandfather (in the way of strong, confident, and loving), not necessarily being married to a priest (that would be just crazy and weird, right)? After I finished my bedtime prayers, I got a weird feeling that everything in my life would be just fine, and I received confirmation that I was called to serve in God's church but I had no idea how, or what that looked like. I just new I had to continue to be myself, be strong, and love others (as hard as it can be at times).


Fast forward to my college years, where my husband and my friendship grew. We met each other when we were 13 and 15 at a youth conference. Knew of each other, but did not really become close friends until I was in college. We ended up dating 2 years long distance (NY to GA) and then I finally moved to NY for the first 5 years of our relationship, engagement, and marriage. Little did we know we would be called to a church in FL (where my grandfather was priest for many years) not once, but twice. Now we are being called to another church in Tampa. Through all the moves in our marriage, we kept God center, our friendship strong, and going to church a way of life. In doing that, we have been blessed beyond measure by our church families (those we served, and those we yet to serve) already in our life. No matter what we think we have planned, God has a way of calling us. We just have to listen, love, and buckle up for the ride!


“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.”

‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭3:5-6‬


Photo: Miss Mayhem on the ranch.


“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭22:37-39‬ ‭

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page