top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Wood

Holy Land Chronicles: 10 -12

Days 10-12 were a blur. We did and saw so much in Jerusalem. We walked in Jesus’ footsteps throughout the city and surrounding areas. A few places really struck me. The Western Wall, the Church (Basilica) of Agony in the Garden of Gethsemane, and the stairs Jesus walked from Gethsemane to Jerusalem. All had a somberness about them. All reminded me of a time of loss and mourning. They all had me stop to pray for those I love and those still searching.

Photo Credit: Christian Wood


The Church of Agony was dark, the windows were purple, but the site of the rock that Jesus sweat blood on, the altar, was the only place of light. Being in the magnificent location of sorrow really overwhelmed me.


Photo Credit: Paul Carastro


After visiting the garden, we went to the steps where Jesus walked to Jerusalem from that garden. Where he walked to be tried. As I waited for my group, I decided to pray on those steps. Prayers for all those that are hurting and lost. Prayers for those that mourn. Prayers for Jerusalem, prayers for home, prayers for the world. Prayers that we remember we were created in his image by him; we must love one another, pray for one another, and go out and bear the image of Christ to others.

I am writing this last entry of the Holy Land Chronicles as I finish watching St John’s on our live stream. I have missed our church family these two weeks, and we wanted so badly to be with you this Sunday, but the travel bug had other plans. I cannot wait to be with you all again. To worship together and serve together. We are one body and the feet and hands of Jesus on this earth; let us go out into the world with “gladness and singleness of heart” for our Lord, bringing hope to those still searching.


Stay sassy, a little muddy, a dash salty, and be his light in Tampa and beyond.

Our St. John’s Pilgrims: Paul and Mary Beth Carastro, Donna and Alex Gem, and Fr. Chris and Kate Wood

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page