top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Wood

The Roots

I grew up in a college town in Georgia (Athens). The town was small, but the population was high due to the University (UGA). I lived in the outskirts, in the Country "far from downtown" and the "city." Prior to settling in Athens, my family lived in other rural areas of the state. My family, maternal and paternal sides, were farmers and in agriculture. If we go back a couple generations we can trace our ancestry to agriculturally related fields in Ireland, South Carolina, and Georgia. Living on the land in wide open spaces is the way my family lives. However, when I was younger (Middle through High school), I hated it! All I wanted was to live in the city away from the small town, simple life, smell of hay and manure. I remember visiting New York and being amazed by the fire escapes (that you only see in movies) on the side of the buildings when I visited. It took me a long time to realize what I had, and how to appreciate it. Sure, I wanted bigger and better things, I couldn't stand the stereotype people portrayed me as being from Georgia, and all I wanted was to be "different." Luckily, I started to come to my senses my senior year in high school, even though all I wanted to do was to go to college in New York... but landed in Atlanta (the next biggest city I knew). I began to realize, I am rooted in the earth, figuratively and spiritually. It's what my family knows and loves, it is what we are made of- of the earth, of dust.


14 Your descendants will be like the dust of the earth, and you will spread out to the west and to the east, to the north and to the south. All peoples on earth will be blessed through you and your offspring.


I pray my family continues to know their history, be rooted in faith, and remember we are but dust. Even as dust of the earth we must continue to bless others.


92 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page