top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Wood

Holy Land Chronicles: Day 6

This day started slow with a two-hour individual retreat on the shores of Lake Galilee. It was exactly what everyone needed. We were all tired and needed to be still. After our reflection time, we left the Sea of Galilee and retreated to Caesarea Philippi like Jesus and the Apostles did when Jesus revealed himself to them as the Messiah. We went on a beautiful hike to the Banians Waterfalls. The water was so crisp and clear as it flowed over the mountain cliffs. As we hiked, I could see why Jesus retreated to this beautiful secluded place. Up away from all the noise by the Sea of Galilee. He was up on the rocks on a mountaintop; what a backdrop for the most crucial proclamation to his followers.

Being on that mountain and near those spirit-refreshing falls, I remembered all the times I played in the mountain springs in North Georgia when we would visit my Grandparents. It was all so familiar. Granddaddy always knew what, when, and how to proclaim the Gospel. I understand why he never wanted to leave the mountains of North Georgia, even when we wanted him to come down!

Stubborn seems to be a theme to who Jesus is trying to speak to! Just like Peter, being stubborn isn’t always a bad thing. Granted, we must slow down, listen, and admit when we have been wrong, knowing He will always love us; we just have to follow Him.

Rocks can be rough, smooth, hot, and cold; they can change with the seasons and surrounding environment but are still solid and steady. If you are rough, let the waterfall smooth you. If you are hot, let the sea cool you. If you are cold, let the sun warm you. If you are smooth, let the chiseler chip away the things that harden you. If you are tired, sit on the Rock. Better yet, stand firm on the Rock and proclaim that Jesus is Lord.



This entry is dedicated to my Grandaddy (Fr. Tom) who I miss dearly. I had fun on that mountain Granddaddy I didn’t want to come down! As I was writing this entry “Love” by Sugarland came on over my headphones. It is worth a listen. I really captures the beauty in this Holy Land Journey. And YES I cried.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page