top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Wood

Holy Land Chronicles: Day 2

Updated: Apr 22, 2023

Waking up in Jericho, it was time to board the bus. We traveled into the desert surrounded by mountains of rock and sand with sparse amounts of greenery. The cypress trees are the ones that stretch the highest, as if they were competing with the mountains. As we rode, the Dead Sea was below us. We went further and further down and headed to Masada. Once we arrived in Masada, we took a cable car up to the top of the fortress of Masada. Masada was initially built by King Herod as one of his many palaces. It had everything, including an intricate system for gathering water in the months it rained. It truly is a marvel to see. After Jesus’ crucifixion, this site was inhabited by Jewish Zealots who resided at Masada before being attacked by the Romans. This was the site of the first Jewish and Roman war. Ultimately, the Zealots took their own lives as the Romans broke through the fortress. For King Herod, I imagine it was his false sense of power and an escape from what he may have been running from. For those who died during the war, a false sense of security. With all of Masada's perceived strength, power, and even magnificent remains, it represented fear and sadness as it towered above the Dead Sea below.


Our next stop was En Gedi Reserve. As we walked up the hill towards the waterfall, we stopped and heard the story of David sparing Saul’s life (1 Samuel 24). I could not stop smiling during the homily because I could relate to David's feelings. He was called by the Lord out of his comfort zone. That is one thing I know as a clergy spouse, being called by the Lord is not always comfortable. He challenges us to do things we may not want to do, and there have been a few times I just wanted to say NO! However, when we listen and trust in Him, it is one heck of a ride! This was a very different message than what I experienced at Masada.


Our last stop of the day was at the Dead Sea, the lowest place on earth. As I got ready to go into the salty water, I was giddy with excitement. I never thought I would get to experience this! I could not wait to be floating in a way I only imagined, on top of the water, not just in it! My inner swimmer was doing summersaults in my tummy. As we all floated around, I felt the healing power and renewal the “dead” water brought to all of us. It brought us refreshment and laughter. Even the mud brought us together as we slathered it on our desert-ridden skin. Walking up the bank to get more mud, I stepped on a very sharp rock, or was it a Lego? I reached down expecting to see a gnarly, ragged, old rock, but instead, I pulled up an glistening, opaque, salt crystal. I almost started to cry. It was so beautiful against the dark rich mud on my hands. The contrast was astounding, much like I experienced early that day, going from the highest point, in the lowest place on earth, to the lowest, saltiest, and to a body of water deemed “dead.” At that moment, this scripture passage came to mind and put everything I experienced from Day 2 in such perspective.


“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Matthew‬ ‭5‬:‭13‬-‭16‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Photo credit: Todd Morton- Morton's Market


We are called to live by faith, not fear and trust in the Lord. We are called to love, proclaim, and be His hands and feet in this broken world. We are called to live by faith, not fear, and be His light. So let His light shine, be His light, and stay salty.

Thank you Saltwater Born for the gear!




218 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page