top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKate Wood

Holy Land Chronicles: Day 4

“And Mary said, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,”

‭‭Luke‬ ‭1‬:‭46‬-‭47‬ ‭ESV‬‬


As we drove to the Church of the Annunciation, I could not help but notice the richness of the area. The surrounding areas always have a crop growing year-round in the fields. Farming is a way of life here, and it was here long before the tourism industry. Once we arrived at the Church of the Annunciation, we gathered in the entry area in front of the church. We were surrounded by endless pieces of art dedicated to Our Lady from all over the world. Seeing the depictions and devotion from every place on earth was amazing.

As I walked around and contemplated each holy piece of art, I felt cool breezes. I felt calm; I felt at peace. I remember saying to my husband, “It’s like she is welcoming us back from the wilderness and into her arms.” That is how it felt. That safe, strong, beautiful place. The place where you play, eat, sleep, love, and laugh. The place where most of your memories are made growing up. The place where you learn all about life, cooking, prayer, and kindness. It reminded me of the day before at the Jordan River. Coming down to the river from the desert and feeling the cool refreshing waters. It reminded me of the cold springs and lakes I would play in growing up. It felt like home.

Surrounded by a loving, nurturing spirit full of life and strength, I entered the church and made my way quietly down to the spot where it all began. The place where an angel, the Angel Gabriel, appeared and told Mary her whole world was about to change. She would be the one that will carry the Son of God! No pressure! I can only imagine all the things running through her mind.


“Mary was greatly troubled at his words and wondered what kind of greeting this might be. But the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary; you have found favor with God.”

Luke‬ ‭1‬:‭29‬-‭30‬ ‭NIV‬‬


Overwhelmed with emotion, I slowly way my way out of the church. Walking down the main stairs, I noticed honeysuckle growing on a single column in the garden. I honestly could not believe my eyes. I was taken back home at that moment and, instinctually, reached for the honeysuckle and sipped up the nectar, like my brother I always did at the mountain lake house growing up. I immediately thought, am I being told, “Do not be afraid?” Like the cool breeze that calmed my soul as we entered, this simple flower, its smell, and its taste brought me peace. I was home.

This entry is dedicated to my grandmother, mother of 8, and clergy spouse, who was and still is always guiding me with her beauty and strength.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page